Version française





(A. François, S. Lacrampe, M. Franjieh & S. Schnell, eds) The Languages of Vanuatu: Unity and Diversity. Studies in the Languages of Island Melanesia, 5. Canberra: Asia–Pacific Linguistics Open Access. 271 pp. (ISBN: 978-1922185235).

→ Reference page for this volume, including download links
pdf  Download the entire book  in open access [4.5 Mb]

stone With an estimated 138 different indigenous languages, Vanuatu is the country with the highest linguistic density in the world. While they all belong to the Oceanic family, these languages have evolved in three millennia, from what was once a unified dialect network, to the mosaic of different languages that we know today. In this respect, Vanuatu constitutes a valuable laboratory for exploring the ways in which linguistic diversity can emerge out of former unity. This volume represents the first collective book dedicated solely to the languages of this archipelago, and to the various forms taken by their diversity. Its ten chapters cover a wide range of topics, including verbal aspect, valency, possessive structures, numerals, space systems, oral history and narratives. The languages of Vanuatu: Unity and Diversity provides new insights onto the many facets of Vanuatu's rich linguistic landscape.




(with Jean-Michel Charpentier) Atlas Linguistique de la Polynésie Française – Linguistic Atlas of French Polynesia. Berlin & Papeete: Mouton de Gruyter & Université de la Polynésie Française. 2562 pp. (ISBN: 978-3-11-026035-9).

→ Reference page for this volume, including download links

stone The vast territory of French Polynesia is home to seven distinct languages – Tahitian, Austral, Ra’'ivavae, Rapa, Mangarevan, Pa'umotu and Marquesan – which in turn show internal variation. The fruit of ten years of joint work by two linguists of French CNRS, Jean-Michel Charpentier and Alexandre François, the Linguistic Atlas of French Polynesia pays tribute to the rich linguistic landscape of the country by documenting thoroughly twenty different communalects, in the form of 2250 maps. Organised by topics (body, life, individual and society, culture and technology, flora and fauna), these lexical maps are supplemented by explanatory notes and indexes in French, English, Tahitian. Text chapters in French and English present the social profile and the historical dynamics of the territory's languages, which are all endangered to various extents. Published in open access, this multilingual and comparative atlas provides an essential reference to scholars and teachers alike, as well as to a broader audience keen to explore and preserve the linguistic heritage of the Pacific region.




François, Alexandre & Monika Stern. Music of Vanuatu: Celebrations and Mysteries. Ebook accompanying the CD album Musiques du Vanuatu: Fêtes et Mystères – Music of Vanuatu: Celebrations and Mysteries. Inédit, W 260147. Paris: Maison des Cultures du Monde.

→  Online presentation
→  The complete booklet (bilingual) in Open Access
→  English version, printer-friendly
→  Publisher’s page

stone The musical arts of Vanuatu remain largely undocumented - whether in the detail of their instruments, melodies and rhythms, or the poetic forms and styles used in the songs themselves. And yet, these artistic practices include treasures worthy of being brought to light. This album aims to recreate the various musical atmospheres experienced by Vanuatu people in their lives. After listening to nature and the music it inspires, this musical journey meets daily life at the village with wedding and end-of-mourning ceremonies with dances, singing and drumming. The secular world of the village contrasts with the closed circles of important chiefs and Big Men, whose solemn grade-taking ceremonies are marked by the large slit gongs. Finally, comes the time of mystery. Initiates revive the dead and the ancestors with their song language and supernatural powers. Announced by the bullroarer, their steps dance to the sound of groaning voices and strange cries, punctuated by their drums and rattles. These field recordings were collected between 1997 and 2010 in Torres, Banks, Pentecost, Ambae and Maewo Islands.



A Mwotlap - French - English cultural dictionary.

This dictionary is a work in progress, and will remain so for some time. I have currently written about half of it. Check out the pdf 2011 version of this dictionary here.




La Sémantique du Prédicat en Mwotlap (Vanuatu). Collection Linguistique de la Société de Linguistique de Paris. Leuven-Paris: Peeters. 408 pp.

→  Presentation
→  Flick and search through this book  (with Google Book Search)
  Download the entire book  in open access [2.3 Mb]

stone Mwotlap is an unwritten language spoken by about 1800 people in the Banks Is., Vanuatu; it belongs to the Oceanic branch of the Austronesian family. Besides presenting the first grammatical description of this endangered language, this book (in French) investigates more specifically the semantic mechanisms associated with predicates.
The paradigm of Tense-Aspect-Modality ("TAM") markers receives special attention. These morphemes appear to be compatible not only with verbs, but also with all adjectives and nouns, which is typologically remarkable. The dimension of tense—in the strict, deictic sense of the word—is not relevant in Mwotlap: the system only makes explicit the domains of aspect and modality, combined with positive-negative polarity. The result of this alchemy is an impressive list of no less than twenty-six TAM markers, nineteen positive (e.g. Perfect, Preterite, Complete, Aorist, Prospective, Apprehensional…) and seven negative (e.g. Negative potential, Prohibitive…). The heart of this study consists in systematically describing, illustrating and interpreting each of these twenty-six mechanisms, both at sentence and discourse level. A theoretical and synthetic chapter finally reassembles the spare parts of the "TAM machine", with the aim to understand its general architecture and organizing principles. Throughout the analysis, careful attention is being paid to the many ways in which the morphological marking of the predicate contributes to the speaker's functional and pragmatic strategies.




Araki: A disappearing language of Vanuatu. Pacific Linguistics, 522. Canberra: Australian National University. 375 pp.

→  Presentation
→    Download the entire book in open access [6.6 Mb]

stone Araki, an unwritten Austronesian language belonging to the Oceanic subgroup, is now spoken by less than a dozen people in a small islet of Vanuatu; it is likely to disappear very soon. As the first ever publication about this language, the present study covers all that it has been possible to gather from it. The core of this book is a grammatical description of Araki: attention has been paid to its phonology and morphology, the inventory of syntactic categories, the internal organisation of noun and verb phrases, the semantics of aspect and mood, complex sentence construction, and many other topics which illustrate the originality of this language. A bilingual lexicon is also provided, as well as a selection of texts.




Contraintes de structures et liberté dans l'organisation du discours. Une description du mwotlap, langue océanienne du Vanuatu [Structural constraints and freedom in speech elaboration: A description of Mwotlap, an Oceanic language of Vanuatu]. Doctoral thesis in Linguistics, Université Paris-IV Sorbonne. 3 volumes (1078 pages, 472,000 words).

  Shorter summary (French & English)
  Longer summary, in French
  Download the dissertation   (10.5 Mb)  

stone Mwotlap (Motlav), an unwritten Austronesian language belonging to the Oceanic subgroup, is spoken by about 1800 people living in northern Vanuatu – Melanesia, South Pacific. Throughout this general description of its grammar, several issues are addressed, all of which are topics relevant to current functional and typological linguistics: phonology and morphology; syntactic categories; reference tracking, spatial deixis, possession and quantifiers; verb serialisation and valency; aspect and mood categories; discourse pragmatics and speech acts. Each grammatical structure is not only described synchronically, but also situated along diachronic paths of evolution. This is how multiple grammaticalisation patterns, as well as complex processes of syntactic and semantic change, gradually come to light. Due to the pressure of numerous cognitive and structural constraints acting on the speaker's mind, the power of linguistic innovation may even give rise to spectacular upheavals.






©   Alexandre François 2015

Publications

English
 
English version


 

Livres

2015

 

(A. François, S. Lacrampe, M. Franjieh & S. Schnell, eds) The Languages of Vanuatu: Unity and Diversity. Studies in the Languages of Island Melanesia, 5. Canberra: Asia–Pacific Linguistics Open Access. 271 pp. (ISBN: 978-1922185235).

→ Page de référence pour ce volume, avec liens de téléchargement
pdf  Télécharger l'ouvrage entier  en libre accès [4.5 Mo]

+ -
stone With an estimated 138 different indigenous languages, Vanuatu is the country with the highest linguistic density in the world. While they all belong to the Oceanic family, these languages have evolved in three millennia, from what was once a unified dialect network, to the mosaic of different languages that we know today. In this respect, Vanuatu constitutes a valuable laboratory for exploring the ways in which linguistic diversity can emerge out of former unity. This volume represents the first collective book dedicated solely to the languages of this archipelago, and to the various forms taken by their diversity. Its ten chapters cover a wide range of topics, including verbal aspect, valency, possessive structures, numerals, space systems, oral history and narratives. The languages of Vanuatu: Unity and Diversity provides new insights onto the many facets of Vanuatu's rich linguistic landscape.

2015

 

(en collaboration avec Jean-Michel Charpentier) Atlas Linguistique de la Polynésie Française – Linguistic Atlas of French Polynesia. Berlin & Papeete: Mouton de Gruyter & Université de la Polynésie Française. 2562 pp. (ISBN: 978-3-11-026035-9).

→  Page de l'atlas, avec liens de téléchargement

[doi:10.1515/9783110260359]

+ -
stone Le vaste territoire de la Polynésie française compte sept langues distinctes – tahitien, austral, ra'ivavae, rapa, mangarévien, pa'umotu, marquisien – dotées à leur tour d'une forte variation interne. Fruit de dix ans de collaboration entre deux linguistes du CNRS, Jean-Michel Charpentier et Alexandre François, l'Atlas linguistique de la Polynésie française rend hommage à ce riche paysage linguistique et dialectal en documentant minutieusement vingt parlers différents du territoire, à l'aide de plus de 2250 cartes. Organisées thématiquement – corps, vie, individu et société, culture et techniques, flore et faune – ces cartes lexicales s'accompagnent de notes explicatives et d'index en français, anglais, tahitien. Des chapitres introductifs présentent le contexte social et la dynamique historique des langues de Polynésie française, toutes plus ou moins fragilisées par la modernité. Publié en accès libre, cet ouvrage multilingue et comparatif s'adresse non seulement aux chercheurs et aux enseignants, mais aussi à tous ceux que passionne le patrimoine linguistique de cette région du Pacifique.

2013

 

François, Alexandre & Monika Stern. Musiques du Vanuatu: Fêtes et Mystères. Livret accompagnant l'album Musiques du Vanuatu: Fêtes et Mystères – Music of Vanuatu: Celebrations and Mysteries. Label Inédit, W 260147. Paris: Maison des Cultures du Monde.

→  Page de présentation
→  Le livret en version intégrale (bilingue)
→  Version française, optimisée pour l'impression
→  Page de l'éditeur

+ -
stone Les arts musicaux du Vanuatu sont peu connus en dehors de leur pays - qu'il s'agisse des instruments, des mélodies et des rythmes, des formes poétiques et stylistiques. Et pourtant, ces pratiques artistiques recèlent des trésors qui méritent d'être découverts. Cet album tente de restituer les diverses atmosphères qui accompagnent les individus tout au long de leur vie : la nature et les musiques qu'elle inspire ; la vie quotidienne au village avec ses berceuses, ses comptines enfantines, ses réjouissances : mariages, levées de deuil accompagnés de danses, de chants et de percussions. À ce monde profane du village s'oppose celui des chefs et des Grands Hommes avec leurs cérémonies de prise de grade, dont la solennité est soulignée par les grands tambours à fente. Enfin, le temps du mystère. Les initiés font revivre les ancêtres et les morts avec leur langage et leurs pouvoirs surnaturels : introduits par le vrombissement du rhombe, ce sont des voix étranges, des cris ponctués de tambours et de sonnailles, de longs gémissements. Ces enregistrements réalisés sur le terrain entre 1997 et 2010 dans les îles Torres, Banks, Pentecôte, Ambae et Maewo sont accompagnés d'un livret français/anglais de 24 pages et d'un livret électronique de 128 pages.

(2011)
 

Dictionnaire culturel mwotlap – français – anglais.

Ce dictionnaire est un travail en cours, et le restera pendant un certain temps. J'en ai écrit environ la moitié (309 pp.), en format trilingue. Vous pouvez consulter pdf la version 2011 de ce dictionnaire, ou bien pdf le dictionnaire mwotlap-anglais-français en ligne pdf

+ -
stone Voici la version 2011 du dictionnaire mwotlap–français–anglais. Commencé en 1998, ce travail est encore en cours. Avec 1692 entrées à ce jour, ce dictionnaire ne contient qu'une partie du vocabulaire que j'ai recueilli dans la langue mwotlap – peut-être les deux tiers. Ce travail fait partie de mes projets à long terme. La version définitive de ce dictionnaire sera accompagnée d'explications plus détaillées.

2003

 

La Sémantique du Prédicat en Mwotlap (Vanuatu). Collection Linguistique de la Société de Linguistique de Paris. Leuven-Paris: Peeters. 408 pp. (ISBN: 9789042912717).

→  Présentation
→  Explorer l'ouvrage   (avec Google Book Search)
  Télécharger l'ouvrage entier en libre accès
(reproduction intégrale du livre publié) [2,3 Mo]

+ -
stone Langue mélanésienne de tradition orale, le mwotlap appartient à la branche océanienne de la famille austronésienne ; il est actuellement parlé par environ 1800 locuteurs, au nord de l'archipel du Vanuatu. Tout en décrivant cette langue pour la première fois, l'ouvrage cherche plus particulièrement à y étudier les mécanismes sémantiques associés à la fonction prédicative.
La réflexion se développe autour de l'analyse détaillée d'un riche paradigme de marques de temps-aspect-mode ("marqueurs TAM"). Une des originalités typologiques du mwotlap est de rendre ces marques compatibles non seulement avec les verbes, mais aussi avec les adjectifs et les noms. Si le temps grammatical n'est jamais codé en tant que tel, en revanche, chaque élément de ce paradigme TAM cumule des valeurs d'aspect, de modalité, et de polarité ; il en résulte pas moins de vingt-six marqueurs en tout – dix-neuf affirmatifs (ex. Parfait, Prétérit, Accompli, Aoriste, Prospectif, Évitatif…) et sept négatifs (ex. Potentiel négatif, Prohibitif…). Pour chaque morphème pris séparément, l'analyse tente de modéliser l'opération abstraite commune à tous ses emplois dans le discours, ainsi que les conditions et les limites de la variation sémantique. La cohérence du système est constamment explorée, de façon à en esquisser l'architecture globale, et à en dégager les principes sous-jacents. L'ouvrage s'achève par une réflexion sur la manière dont le marquage morphologique du prédicat contribue aux stratégies pragmatiques mises en œuvre par l'énonciateur.

2002

 

Araki: A disappearing language of Vanuatu. Pacific Linguistics, 522. Canberra: Australian National University. 375 pp.

→  Présentation
  Télécharger l'ouvrage entier en libre accès
(reproduction intégrale du livre publié) [6,6 Mo]

+ -
stone L’araki est une langue de tradition orale, appartenant à la branche océanienne de la famille austronésienne. Aujourd'hui parlé par moins d'une dizaine de locuteurs sur une petite île du Vanuatu, il est fortement menacé de disparition. Première publication sur cette langue, cette étude rassemble tout ce qu'il a été possible d'en appréhender. L'essentiel de l'ouvrage présente la grammaire de l'araki : phonologie et morphologie, inventaire des catégories syntaxiques, structure interne des syntagmes nominaux et verbaux, sémantique de l'aspect et du mode, phrase complexe, etc. Outre la grammaire elle-même, un lexique bilingue est proposé, ainsi qu'une sélection de textes empruntés à la tradition orale.

2001

 

Contraintes de structures et liberté dans l'organisation du discours. Une description du mwotlap, langue océanienne du Vanuatu. Thèse de Doctorat en Linguistique, Université Paris-IV Sorbonne. 3 volumes (1078 pages, 472 000 mots)

  Résumé long (PDF)
  Résumé court (PDF)
  Télécharger la thèse complète   (10,5 Mo)

+ -
stone Langue de tradition orale parlée par 1800 personnes au nord du Vanuatu (Mélanésie, Pacifique), le mwotlap appartient à la branche océanienne de la famille austronésienne. Au fil d'une description grammaticale aussi complète que possible, le mwotlap nous permet d'aborder diverses problématiques dans l'esprit de la linguistique générale et typologique : phonologie, morphologie ; catégories syntaxiques, opposition verbo-nominale ; construction de la référence, déixis, possession et quantification ; valence, diathèse et séries verbales ; opérations aspecto-modales ; pragmatique du discours et argumentation. Chaque fait de langue est à la fois décrit en synchronie, et replacé dans son contexte historique. Se dessinent ainsi de multiples parcours de grammaticalisation, des processus de réanalyses formelles ou sémantiques ; et parfois, sous la pression des diverses contraintes cognitives ou structurelles, la puissance de l'innovation conduit à de spectaculaires bouleversements.
 

rope

 

 

 
Haut de la page
 
 
 

©   Alexandre FRANCOIS 2017