Music of Vanuatu: the book

French
 
Version française


 

booklet

star Music of Vanuatu: our e-book

The publication of our CD album “Music of Vanuatu” was also the occasion to release an accompanying booklet, so as to guide listeners through their musical experience. While the physical CD comes with a 24-page printed booklet of liner notes, the complete form of our work comes in the form of a 128-page ebook, bilingual in French and English (plus a text in Bislama). This ebook is more than just the liner notes to a CD: it also constitutes a synthesis of our research and fieldwork on music in Vanuatu.

Released in Open Access by the publisher MCM, the e-book is freely available for download, from pdf this link. You may also want to download this pdf printer-friendly, English-only version of the book.

Here’s how you can cite this booklet, if needed:


François, Alexandre & Monika Stern. 2013. Music of Vanuatu: Celebrations and Mysteries. Ebook released with the CD album Musiques du Vanuatu: Fêtes et Mystères – Music of Vanuatu: Celebrations and Mysteries. Label Inédit, W 260147. Paris: Maison des Cultures du Monde.
[permanent link: http://halshs.archives-ouvertes.fr/halshs-00874941]


The book includes a presentation of Vanuatu’s musical repertoires and instruments, as well as an introduction to the various styles and forms of sung poetry. Each of the pieces heard in the album is translated, explained or commented, and provided with the names of the musicians and the instruments they play. Finally, a rich selection of colour pictures from the authors’ fieldwork aims at complementing the reader’s aesthetic experience.

deco

 

 

 
Top
 
 
 

©   Alexandre François 2014

Musiques du Vanuatu: le livret

English
 
English version


 

wordle

star Musiques du Vanuatu: Le livret

Lors de la préparation de notre album “Musiques du Vanuatu”, une bonne partie de nos efforts a porté sur le livret qui allait l’accompagner, afin de guider l’auditeur dans sa découverte musicale.

Outre le livret imprimé de 24 pages fourni avec le disque, la forme complète de cet ouvrage a pris la forme d'un livre électronique de 128 pages, bilingue français–anglais (avec une postface en bichelamar). Publié par MCM sous une forme électronique en libre accès, ce livre est disponible gratuitement au téléchargement, à partir de pdf ce lien. (Vous pouvez également en télécharger une pdf version française, optimisée pour l'impression.)

Voici comment citer ce livre:


François, Alexandre & Monika Stern. 2013. Musiques du Vanuatu: Fêtes et Mystères. Livret accompagnant l'album Musiques du Vanuatu: Fêtes et Mystères – Music of Vanuatu: Celebrations and Mysteries. Label Inédit, W 260147. Paris: Maison des Cultures du Monde.
[lien: https://halshs.archives-ouvertes.fr/halshs-00874941]


Cet ouvrage présente en détail les répertoires et instruments de musique de cette région du Vanuatu, et initie le lecteur à l'art de la poésie chantée. Chacune des pièces du disque est traduite, expliquée ou commentée, et accompagnée des noms des musiciens et des instruments utilisés. Enfin, une riche sélection de photos en couleurs, prises par les auteurs sur le terrain, vient compléter l'expérience esthétique du lecteur.

deco

 

 

 
Haut de la page
 
 
 

©   Alexandre FRANCOIS 2017