The Linguistic Atlas of French Polynesia

French
 
Version française


 

 

Maeva 'outou !

Welcome to the homepage of the Linguistic Atlas of French Polynesia. The result of ten years of collaboration between two linguists of French CNRS – Jean-Michel Charpentier(†) and Alexandre François – this volume of 2562 pages documents the diversity of languages and dialects of French Polynesia.


Charpentier, Jean-Michel & Alexandre François. 2015.
Atlas Linguistique de la Polynésie FrançaiseLinguistic Atlas of French Polynesia.
Berlin, Papeete: de Gruyter & Université de la Polynésie Française. 2562 pp. (ISBN : 978-3-11-026035-9)


Inaugurated officially on 26 February 2015, this atlas is published jointly by Université de la Polynésie française (UPF) and by academic publisher De Gruyter. Both the authors and the publishers have wished for this work to be distributed freely, in Open access, so as to be accessible to everyone. Feel free to download it and circulate it!

The languages of French Polynesia Coauthorship Presentation of the atlas Download area

Among the languages of the Pacific, my work as a linguist is primarily focused on Melanesia, particularly Vanuatu and the Solomons. As for the Polynesian family – the most famous language group in the Pacific – it has been relevant to my work, but rather indirectly, like a remote cousin you meet every now and then, but don’t know that well. During my own fieldwork, the only Polynesian language I’ve worked on firsthand was Tikopian (Fakatikopia), an Outlier language spoken in the Solomon Islands.



Jean-Michel Charpentier in 2007,
during one of his fieldwork trips in French Polynesia

And yet, even though they were peripheral to my own fieldwork, Polynesian languages have played an important role in my research in the last few years. In 2004, my colleague Jean-Michel Charpentier offered me to coauthor with him a linguistic atlas, and I immediately accepted — knowing how fascinating I have always found language geography and dialectology, the art of drawing human landscapes with words.

Following a suggestion by Prof. Louise Peltzer – then the Minister of Culture in the government of French Polynesia – Jean-Michel had taken up the challenge to document twenty “communalects” across the various archipelagoes of French Polynesia. Between 2004 and 2010, he carried out the ambitious endeavour to collect massive lexical data in all these languages, travelling from island to island, in quest of the best connoisseurs of each local dialect. His surveys consisted in filling out a giant lexical questionnaire of his own invention, a form of onomasiological thesaurus composed of about 2250 entries. In doing so, Jean-Michel always benefitted from the friendly support of many speakers and experts of these languages, including language academies and clubs of speakers keen to preserve and promote their own linguistic legacy.

Once the data collection was over, Jean-Michel Charpentier handed me the 2500+ pages of fieldnotes he had put together, and asked me to transform his raw data into a linguistic atlas. Between 2009 and 2014 (in parallel with my research on Melanesia), I designed the final format of this book, wrote myself a script of dynamic cartography (using Toolbox, Php and Actionscript), and generated the 2253 maps of the atlas, one at a time. Besides the maps themselves, I also added about 200 pages of finderlists in three languages (French, English, Tahitian), and 120 pages of text chapters (in French and English) which we wrote together. Finally, I was in charge of contacting the publishers, De Gruyter and the UPF, for whom I prepared the camera-ready manuscript.

In sum, this volume is a good example of what a longhaul work of collaboration can be between its two coauthors. After his retirement in 2010, Jean-Michel Charpentier was always happy to monitor the steady progress of our joint work, as I sent him the maps and chapters I had created based on his data. Tragically, Jean-Michel passed away on 30 March 2014 – right when our atlas project was entering its final stage of production. Today, as our volume finally sees the light of day, I have a special thought for my colleague and friend Jean-Michel, who would be proud to see the result of our many years of work together.

(The first pages of the published volume include a tribute to the life and work of Jean-Michel Charpentier.)

deco
 

 

 

 
Top
 
 
 

©   Alexandre François 2017

L’Atlas linguistique de la Polynésie française

English
 
English version


 

 

Maeva ’outou !

Bienvenue sur la page de l'Atlas linguistique de la Polynésie française. Fruit d'une décennie de collaboration entre deux linguistes du CNRS – Jean-Michel Charpentier(†) et Alexandre François – , ce volume de 2562 pages se veut un ouvrage de référence sur la diversité des langues et dialectes de la Polynésie française.


Charpentier, Jean-Michel & Alexandre François. 2015.
Atlas Linguistique de la Polynésie FrançaiseLinguistic Atlas of French Polynesia.
Berlin, Papeete : de Gruyter & Université de la Polynésie Française. 2562 pp. (ISBN : 978-3-11-026035-9)


Inauguré en février 2015, l'atlas est publié conjointement par l'Université de la Polynésie française (UPF) et par l'éditeur scientifique De Gruyter. Les auteurs et les éditeurs ont souhaité conjointement que ce travail soit distribué gratuitement, en Accès libre, afin de profiter à tous. N'hésitez donc pas à le télécharger et à le diffuser !

Les langues de P.F. Un travail de collaboration   L’atlas    Téléchargement    Vidéos  

Parmi les langues du Pacifique, mon travail de linguiste est spécialisé dans la Mélanésie, en particulier Vanuatu et îles Salomon. Quant à la famille polynésienne – le plus célèbre des groupes linguistiques parmi les langues océaniennes – elle m’a certes toujours intéressé, mais indirectement, comme un cousin lointain qui nous intrigue, mais que l'on ne connaît pas si bien. Parmi mes recherches de terrain, la seule langue polynésienne que j'avais eu l'occasion d'explorer de première main était le tikopien (ou fakatikopia), langue de Polynésie extérieure, parlée à l'est des îles Salomon.



Jean-Michel Charpentier en 2007,
lors de ses enquêtes de terrain
en Polynésie française

Pourtant, même si elles étaient peu représentées dans mon propre travail de terrain, les langues polynésiennes occupent depuis quelques années une place particulière dans ma recherche. En 2004, mon collègue Jean-Michel Charpentier m'a proposé de collaborer avec lui à un projet d'atlas linguistique, projet que j'ai tout de suite accepté — tant j'ai toujours été fasciné par la géographie linguistique et la dialectologie, cet art de dessiner un paysage à travers les mots.

À l'initiative de Mme Louise Peltzer, alors Ministre de la Culture du gouvernement de la Polynésie française, Jean-Michel a relevé le défi de documenter une vingtaine de variétés linguistiques disséminées dans les divers archipels de Polynésie. Entre 2004 et 2010, il a entrepris un travail colossal de recueil de données sur le terrain, qui l’a conduit à voyager d’île en île, à la recherche des bons locuteurs des parlers locaux. Ses enquêtes consistaient à remplir un immense questionnaire lexical de sa conception, sorte de dictionnaire onomasiologique et thématique composé de 2250 entrées. Ce faisant, Jean-Michel a également bénéficié du soutien de nombreux locuteurs et connaisseurs de ces langues, académies et associations de gens passionnés par la préservation de leur patrimoine linguistique.

Dans un second temps, Jean-Michel m’a transmis ses 2000 pages de notes de terrain : mon rôle était alors de transformer ces données brutes en un atlas linguistique. Entre 2009 et 2014 (en parallèle avec mes recherches sur la Mélanésie), j’ai ainsi conçu le format définitif de cet atlas, écrit un script de cartographie dynamique, et généré, l’une après l’autre, les 2253 cartes de l’atlas. Outre les cartes elles-mêmes, j’ai également créé 200 pages d’index en trois langues (français, anglais, tahitien), et 120 pages de chapitres introductifs (en français et en anglais). Tout en me chargeant des relations avec les éditeurs De Gruyter et l’U.P.F., j'ai enfin pu créer l’ensemble de l’ouvrage en prêt-à-clicher.

Il s’agit donc bien là d’un véritable travail de collaboration au long cours, entre ses deux auteurs. Retraité en 2010, Jean-Michel Charpentier a eu la satisfaction de voir notre ouvrage prendre belle tournure, à mesure que je lui montrai les cartes et les chapitres que j’avais réalisés à partir de ses données. Malheureusement, j’ai appris la triste nouvelle de son décès, le 30 mars 2014 – alors que notre ouvrage entrait dans sa phase ultime de préparation. Aujourd’hui que notre atlas voit enfin la lumière du jour, je pense à mon collègue et ami Jean-Michel, qui peut être fier du travail que nous avons accompli ensemble.

(Les premières pages du volume publié présentent un hommage à Jean-Michel Charpentier, et à son œuvre scientifique.)

deco
 

 

 

 
Haut de la page
 
 
 

©   Alexandre FRANCOIS 2017