The Linguistic Atlas of French Polynesia

French
 
Version française


 

 

Maeva 'outou !

Welcome to the homepage of the Linguistic Atlas of French Polynesia. The result of ten years of collaboration between two linguists of French CNRS – Jean-Michel Charpentier(†) and Alexandre François – this volume of 2562 pages documents the diversity of languages and dialects of French Polynesia.


Charpentier, Jean-Michel & Alexandre François. 2015.
Atlas Linguistique de la Polynésie FrançaiseLinguistic Atlas of French Polynesia.
Berlin, Papeete: de Gruyter & Université de la Polynésie Française. 2562 pp. (ISBN : 978-3-11-026035-9)


Inaugurated officially on 26 February 2015, this atlas is published jointly by Université de la Polynésie française (UPF) and by academic publisher De Gruyter. Both the authors and the publishers have wished for this work to be distributed freely, in Open access, so as to be accessible to everyone. Feel free to download it and circulate it!

The languages of French Polynesia Coauthorship Presentation of the atlas Download area

You will find here the links for downloading the linguistic atlas.

 Download the whole atlas
(Warning: heavy file, 264 Mb)
Alternative link to the whole volume on CNRS’ institutional repository HAL-SHS (select File or Fichier in top-right corner of the target page)

Homepage of co-publisher Université de la Polynésie française, where you can download the atlas in the form of separate chapters (suitable for slow connections).
Homepage of co-publisher DeGruyter
where the volume can be downloaded in small sections, or as a large file.

 

This atlas is offered today in open access, in digital format. There is no firm plan of releasing it in print version, in part due to the printing costs that would result from the volume's size (2562 pages). Nevertheless, in case of a strong public demand, there would be the possibility of setting up a Print-on-demand option: in that case, interested readers would only be charged for the costs of printing, binding and shipping. At this stage, it is not possible to assess what could be the price of such a printed volume; this will depend on the number of copies produced. In order to assess the feasibility of such a plan, interested readers are invited to let themselves known by contacting the author, indicating the number of hardcopies you would be willing to purchase. Insofar as the price is not made public yet, your message would not commit you to buying anything, but would simply help us plan for future developments.

deco
 

 

 

 
Top
 
 
 

©   Alexandre François 2017

L’Atlas linguistique de la Polynésie française

English
 
English version


 

 

Maeva ’outou !

Bienvenue sur la page de l'Atlas linguistique de la Polynésie française. Fruit d'une décennie de collaboration entre deux linguistes du CNRS – Jean-Michel Charpentier(†) et Alexandre François – ce volume de 2562 pages se veut un ouvrage de référence sur la diversité des langues et dialectes de la Polynésie française.


Charpentier, Jean-Michel & Alexandre François. 2015.
Atlas Linguistique de la Polynésie FrançaiseLinguistic Atlas of French Polynesia.
Berlin, Papeete : Mouton de Gruyter & Université de la Polynésie Française. 2562 pp. (ISBN : 978-3-11-026035-9)


Inauguré en février 2015, l'atlas est publié conjointement par l'Université de la Polynésie française (UPF) et par l'éditeur scientifique De Gruyter. Les auteurs et les éditeurs ont souhaité conjointement que ce travail soit distribué gratuitement, en Accès libre, afin de profiter à tous. N'hésitez donc pas à le télécharger et à le diffuser !

Les langues de P.F. Un travail de collaboration   L’atlas   Téléchargement

Vous trouverez ici les liens pour télécharger l’atlas linguistique.

 Télécharger l'atlas en version intégrale (Attention, fichier lourd, 264 Mo)
Lien alternatif vers le volume sur l'archive du CNRS, HAL-SHS (choisissez Fichier ou File en haut à droite de la page-cible)

Page de l'atlas sur le site de l'Université de la Polynésie française, où vous pouvez télécharger l'atlas sous forme de fichiers séparés.
Page de l'atlas sur le site de l'éditeur DeGruyter:
où le volume est disponible en 23 fichiers séparés, ou en un fichier unique.

 

Cet atlas est proposé gratuitement au format électronique. Pour l'instant, il n'est pas prévu d'en publier une version imprimée, du fait notamment de sa taille (2562 pages) et des coûts d'impression. Cependant, en cas de forte demande du public, il peut être envisageable de mettre en place un système d'impression à la demande (Print on demand): les lecteurs intéressés ne paieraient alors que les frais d'impression, de reliure et d'expédition. À cette heure, il est impossible d'évaluer le prix final d'une telle production;  elle dépendra notamment du nombre de copies réalisées. Afin de jauger la demande, le public intéressé est invité à se manifester en écrivant à l’auteur, et en indiquant le nombre de copies souhaitées. Dans la mesure où le prix n'est pas publié, votre prise de contact ne vous engagera pas à l'acheter, mais nous aidera à envisager les prochains développements.

deco
 

 

 

 
Haut de la page
 
 
 

©   Alexandre FRANCOIS 2017