My fieldwork archives

French
 
Version française


 

 

 

About my fieldwork archives The media library project A user-friendly interface Accessing the archives

A user-friendly interface

As I set up the computer to be used in Motalava's local media library, one key issue was to build an interface which would be intuitive enough that it could be used by people who are not computer literate, yet still offer rich options to the user. After various trials, I concluded that mp3 enriched with id3 tags were the way to go, in combination with sophisticated players such as Winamp or iTunes.

For each mp3 file, the appropriate tags were first extracted from the OLAC metadata I had earlier written (as I was archiving with LACITO); the import from Xml to Mp3 was done semi-automatically – thanks to a Perl script kindly provided by my colleague Séverine Guillaume. I then spent a whole month improving the metadata manually. In particular, I had the idea of providing each sound file with at least one photo – typically, a photo of the speaker.

iTunes makes it easy to search through a whole collection, and quickly retrieve any file. Thanks to a patient editing of metadata, it is also capable of quickly filtering the archives by language, by location of recording, by individual speakers, by genre… It was quickly adopted by the islanders for whom I had designed the whole thing.

Click on the video above for an online demo. (I suggest going fullscreen)

If for some reason you can't access the video, you can have a look at a few screenshots. (Click on the pictures for a larger view)

img  img
img  img
img

 

As far as I know, this interface can only be displayed offline, installed on a local hard drive. The same recordings, though, can be accessed online – in a more classic presentation – via archival repositories of linguistic materials.

 

 

 

 
Top
 
 
 

©   Alexandre François 2017

Mes archives de terrain

English
 
English version


 

 

 

Mes archives Le projet de médiathèque Une interface conviviale Accès aux archives

Une interface conviviale

En installant l'ordinateur qui allait servir à la médiathèque de Motalava, l'un des principaux défis était de créer une interface suffisamment intuitive pour être utilisée facilement par des personnes non rompues à l'informatique, tout en gardant une palette d'options pour l'utilisateur. Après plusieurs essais, je suis arrivé à la conclusion que le format mp3 enrichi de tags id3 serait la meilleure solution, associé à des lecteurs multimédias sophistiqués tels que Winamp ou iTunes.

Pour chaque fichier mp3, les tags correspondants ont d'abord été extraits des métadonnées OLAC que j'avais déjà saisies (pour l'archivage au LACITO) ; l'import de Xml vers Mp3 était semi-automatique – grâce à un script Perl aimablement écrit par ma collègue Séverine Guillaume. J'ai ensuite passé un mois à améliorer manuellement les métadonnées. J'avais notamment l'idée d'incorporer à chaque fichier audio au moins une photo – le plus souvent celle du locuteur.

iTunes facilite la recherche dans toute la collection, pour retrouver efficacement un fichier. Pourvu que le concepteur soit prêt à préparer méticuleusement toutes les métadonnées en amont, il devient alors facile à l'utilisateur final de filtrer les archives par langue, par lieu géographique d'enregistrement, par locuteur, par genre… Les habitants de l'île, pour qui j'avais conçu cette interface, l'ont très vite adoptée.

Cliquez sur la vidéo ci-dessus pour une démonstration en ligne. (Je suggère l'utilisation de plein écran)

Si vous ne pouvez accéder à la vidéo, voici du moins quelques captures d'écran. (Cliquez sur les images pour les agrandir)

img  img
img  img
img

 

À l'heure actuelle, sauf erreur, une telle interface de type iTunes ne peut pas être présentée sur internet : elle n'est accessible qu'en local. Ceci étant dit, j'ai rendu les mêmes enregistrements accessibles en ligne – dans une présentation, certes, plus classique – à travers des sites d'archives audio disponibles au public.

 

 

 

 
Haut de la page
 
 
 

©   Alexandre FRANCOIS 2017