Traditional stories from Vanuatu

French
 
Version française


 

 


©  Sawako François 

Romanmangan

The Fairy from the Other World

 

 

 

Presentation The story in 3 languages

 

A popular tale in the island of Motalava is the story of the Fairy Romanmangan.

I have recorded at least three versions of this story. This one was told to me on May 31st, 1998, in Toglag, the second major village of Motalava island. The language is Mwotlap. The narrator is Jenifa, an energetic woman in her forties.

 

The story of Romanmangan

The reason why I have chosen this version is its incredible literary richness. Not only is this story very long (over 31 minutes), but it is filled with imaginative details and creative situations. The twists and turns of the plot make up a lively and intricate tale consisting of 4 main parts:

A group of women went to spend a day in the bush. One of them picked some sweet apples from an apple tree, and back in the village she gave them to her son. The child enjoyed the apples so much that he went back into the bush to find the tree, at night.
In the forest, the boy stumbled upon a group of flying devils. Amongst them, one fairy, Romanmangan, took pity on him and protected him from her fellows. Eventually the boy and R. became friends, and instead of going back to her world (the abode of the Dead and of Devils) she followed him to the village. There they began a new life as a married couple, and some time later they had a child.
Romanmangan and her family lived on for a few years. But one day, her husband got jealous of her, and abused her violently. She was so shattered, that she decided to go back to where she belonged, that is, the world of the Dead. She gathered dead leaves on the floor to make a big fire, and jumped in it. The smoke magically took her up to the sky.
Her husband and her son lamented her death intensely, until an old witch proposed to help them take Romanmangan back down to Earth. She plaited an immense rope, wove a basket, and literally lifted them up to the sky. There the boy and his father found Romanmangan dancing with her devil friends. They asked her to come back down with them, and…

 

And then… What happened?

You'll find out if you read the story!

 

 

 
Top
 
 
 

©   Alexandre François 2017

Contes et légendes du Vanuatu

English
 
English version


 

 


©  Sawako François 

Romanmangan

La Fée venue de l'Autre Monde

 

 

 

Présentation Le récit en 3 langues

 
Une histoire bien connue à Motalava est celle de la Fée Romanmangan [prononcer: romane-mang-ane].

Parmi les trois versions que j'en ai recueillies, celle-ci m'a été racontée le 31 mai 1998, à Toglag, le deuxième village de Motalava en importance. Le conte est narré en langue mwotlap. La narratrice est Jenifa, une énergique quadragénaire.

 

Le conte de Romanmangan

J'ai choisi cette version-ci pour son incroyable richesse littéraire. Outre sa longueur impressionnante (plus de 31 minutes), ce récit est rempli de détails imaginatifs et de péripéties inattendues. Les rebondissements de l'intrigue dessinent une histoire complexe, faite de quatre parties principales:

Un groupe de femmes part passer la journée en forêt. L'une d'elles cueille quelques pommes sucrées dans un arbre, et de retour au village, les donne à son fils. Ce dernier apprécie tellement les fruits, qu'il décide de partir lui-même en quête de ce pommier, en pleine nuit.
Dans la forêt, le garçon rencontre un escadron de démons volants. Parmi eux, la fée Romanmangan prend pitié du garçon, et le protège de ses congénères. Finalement, le garçon et la fée s'entendent si bien, qu'au lieu de repartir dans son monde (celui des Morts et des Esprits), elle le suit jusqu'à son village. Tous deux commencent alors une nouvelle vie familiale, et donnent naissance à un enfant.
Romanmangan et sa nouvelle famille vivent ainsi quelques années. Mais un jour, son mari est soudain pris de jalousie envers elle, au point de la frapper violemment. Bouleversée, R. décide de regagner le monde d'où elle vient: le monde des Morts. Après avoir rassemblé des feuilles mortes sur le sol, elle allume un grand feu, et s'y précipite. Par magie, la fumée l'emporte jusqu'aux cieux.
Les lamentations de son mari et de son fils se font entendre si fort, qu'une vieille sorcière leur propose son aide pour ramener Romanmangan sur terre. Après avoir tressé une immense corde et fabriqué une nacelle, elle fait monter les deux hommes jusque dans les nuages. Une fois arrivés là-haut, le garçon et son père découvrent Romanmangan qui danse avec ses amis démons. Ils lui demandent si elle veut bien redescendre avec eux sur terre, et alors…

 
Et alors…? Que se passe-t-il?

Vous le saurez si vous lisez l'histoire!

 

 

 
Haut de la page
 
 
 

©   Alexandre FRANCOIS 2017