Traditional stories from Vanuatu

French
 
Version française


 

 

gecko

The three wives
of the Gecko

 

 

 

 

Presentation The story in 3 languages

 

MosesListen to the story of the gecko, a small lizard commonly heard at night in Vanuatu.

Moses Meywēlgen, my adoptive father in the island of Motalava, told me this story in June 1998, in his home of Legvēgmen. This was one of the many, many stories he knew, and which he liked to tell – until his untimely death, at the age of 69, in June 2013.

 

The story of the Gecko

The tale is told in Mwotlap, and is located in the setting of the island of Motalava. However, beyond its anchoring in local references, the story has a universal flavour. The character of the gecko, and his struggle in finding a wife, is reminiscent of many European stories in which an ugly frog awaits the kiss of love that can turn him into a handsome prince. But what really gives this tale a Melanesian flavour is probably its tragic ending.

 

Once upon a time, there were two close friends – two village chiefs of Motalava island. They got along so well, that when they had children, they wanted them to marry each other. However, while the chief of Aliwan (in the west of the island) had three daughters, the chief of Telmitig (in the east) gave birth to… a gecko.

Many years later, the firstborn girl was ready to get married: she walked over to her in-laws’ village, without knowing who her future husband would really be. When she discovered he was not a man but a squeaky, creepy little creature, she ran away screaming. A while later, the same happened to the second sister.

The poor gecko was left alone unmarried, until it was the turn of the third sister. To everyone’s surprise, she fell in love with the animal. Her love turned the gecko into a man – a young and handsome man.

As they came to attend the wedding, the bride’s sisters discovered the actual identity of the man they could have married. Upset with jealousy, they took a terrible decision…

 

What was that decision?  And what were its consequences?

You'll find out if you read the story…

 

 

 
Top
 
 
 

©   Alexandre François 2014

Contes et légendes du Vanuatu

English
 
English version


 

 

gecko

Les trois femmes du Gecko

 

 

 

Présentation Le récit en 3 langues

 

MosesVoici le conte du gecko, un petit lézard que l’on entend souvent couiner la nuit au Vanuatu.

C’est Moses Meywēlgen, mon père adoptif dans l’île de Motalava, qui m’a raconté cette histoire le 30 Juin 1998, en sa demeure de Legvēgmen. C’était l’un des très nombreux contes de son répertoire, tels qu’il aimait à les raconter – jusqu’à son décès en juin 2013, à l’âge de 69 ans.

 

Le conte du Gecko

Le texte est conté en langue mwotlap, et prend l’île de Motalava comme décor. Cependant, malgré cet ancrage local, le conte a des résonances universelles. Ainsi le personnage du gecko, et sa difficulté à trouver femme, n’est pas sans rappeler ces contes européens où un crapaud attend le baiser de l’amour qui le transformera en un prince charmant. Malgré cela, cette version se conforme au canon narratif des contes mélanésiens, du fait de sa fin tragique.
 

Il était une fois deux amis proches – deux chefs de village à Motalava. Ils étaient si proches qu’ils se promirent de marier les enfants qu’ils auraient un jour. Cependant, si le chef d’Aliwan (à l’ouest de l’île) donna naissance à trois filles, celui de Telmitig (à l’est) donna naissance à… un gecko.

Bien plus tard, quand la fille aînée fut en âge de se marier, elle se rendit chez ses beaux-parents, sans savoir l’identité de son futur mari. Lorsqu’elle découvrit qu’il n’était pas un homme mais une petite créature couinante, elle prit la fuite en criant. Peu de temps après, il arriva de même à la seconde sœur.

Le pauvre gecko était donc célibataire, jusqu’au tour de la troisième sœur. À la surprise générale, elle tomba amoureuse du gecko; et son amour transforma ce dernier en un homme – un magnifique jeune homme.

Lorsqu’elles vinrent assister au mariage, les deux sœurs aînées découvrirent la véritable identité de celui qu’elles avaient failli épouser. Saisies soudain d’une furieuse jalousie, elles prirent une terrible décision…

 

Quelle fut donc cette décision ? Et quels en furent les effets ?

Vous le saurez si vous lisez l'histoire…

 

 

 
Haut de la page
 
 
 

©   Alexandre FRANCOIS 2017